Stephen Colbert Thinks Knitting is Boring

So, I’m sittin’ on the sofa, watchin’ a rerun of last night’s “The Colbert Report” on TV and, of course knitting (a new tank top from the summer 2009 issue of Vogue Knitting). Colbert, whose crooked ears alone make me laugh, is doing his “Better Know a District” shtick with Chellie Pingree of Maine’s 1st congressional district. You can watch the interview on the Colbert Report’s site by searching for Monday, Aug. 10th’s show.

In the middle of the interview, Colbert asks the Congresswoman if it is true she is the author of five knitting books, and when she says ,”Yes,” he immediately pretends to fall asleep. And then every time she mentions the word “knitting,” he acts as if he’s just been hit with a sleepy stick.

According to the congresswoman’s bio, she ran a nice little knitting business for a while:

“In 1981, she started North Island Yarn, a cottage industry of local knitters, with a retail store on the island. The business expanded quickly, becoming North Island Designs, and employed as many as ten local workers in peak seasons. The business sold knitting kits and pattern books nationwide through 500 retail stores and 100,000 mail order catalogues. She sold the business in 1993.”

Now, when Mo Rocca dissed knitting on “Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me,” didn’t a buncha knitters get together and knit the guy a sweater? They did. I’m thinking Mr. Colbert needs a similar treatment. I volunteer to fly to NYC and present it to him after the show.

Did the congresswoman pen five knitting books? According to amazon.com, she sure did. Anyone got one of these books?

About kjwinston

I am a freelance religion reporter living in the San Francisco Bay Area.
This entry was posted in knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stephen Colbert Thinks Knitting is Boring

  1. Carolyn says:

    Just recently one of us….and I think it must have been Tuesday night knitting group came with two of the books….and somewhere in my archives I also have one.

  2. Pingback: North Island Designs « In The Loop

  3. Carolyn says:

    Check out a more detailed more response on my blog: http://skeinlane.wordpress.com/ Enjoy!

  4. laura says:

    Kimberly, How do you knit and write and make cards and do everything else you do?

    I’m thinking you need to write us a book about organizing life with spirit. Organizing a spiritual life?
    Just plain making time for everything!

    I’ll buy it!
    Colbert is hilarious, isn’t he?

  5. Ruth says:

    I used to have 3-4 of her books. They had beautiful designs but I never made any of them. I still have one of her kits partially completed. Maybe one of these days I’ll finish it.

  6. I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work

Leave a comment